Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



The Bank of East Asia, Limited

東亞銀行有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability in 1918) (Stock Code: 23)

APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Dr. Rita FAN HSU Lai-tai has been appointed as an Independent Non-executive Director of the Bank with effect from 25th February, 2016.

The Bank of East Asia, Limited (the "Bank") is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Rita FAN HSU Lai-tai ("Dr. Fan") as an Independent Non-executive Director of the Bank with effect from 25th February, 2016.

Dr. Fan, aged 70, is currently an Independent Non-executive Director of China Overseas Land & Investment Limited, China Shenhua Energy Company Limited, COSCO Pacific Limited and China COSCO Holdings Company Limited. Save as disclosed, Dr. Fan has not held any directorships in other listed public companies in the last three years.

Save as disclosed, Dr. Fan does not hold any position with the Bank or with other members of the Bank Group.

Dr. Fan is one of Hong Kong's best-known public figures and has an outstanding track record of service to the community. Dr. Fan was appointed to the Legislative Council from 1983 to 1992 and was a Member of the Executive Council from 1989 to 1992. She became the President of the Provisional Legislative Council in 1997, and has since been re-elected as the President of the First, Second and Third Legislative Council. Her term of office ended on 30th September, 2008. Dr. Fan has served as President of the legislature of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region ("**HKSAR**") for 11 years.

In the lead-up to Hong Kong's reunification with China, Dr. Fan played a valuable role as a Member of the Preliminary Working Committee for the Preparatory Committee for the HKSAR from 1993 to 1995 and of the Preparatory Committee for the HKSAR from 1995 to 1997. She was elected as a Hong Kong Deputy to both the Ninth and Tenth sessions of the National People's Congress ("NPC") between 1998 and 2008. She was also a Member of the Standing Committee of the Eleventh session of the NPC from 2008 to 2013 and is currently a Member of the Standing Committee of the Twelfth session of the NPC.

Outside the political arena, Dr. Fan is the Patron of the Hong Kong Kidney Foundation and the Hong Kong Transplant Sports Association. She is also the Honorary President of the Hong Kong Breast Cancer Foundation. She was Chairman of the Board of Education from 1986 to 1989 and Chairman of the Education Commission from 1990 to 1992. Dr. Fan was the first female steward of The Hong Kong Jockey Club.

After graduating from St. Stephen's Girls' College, Dr. Fan studied at the University of Hong Kong, and was awarded a Bachelor degree in Science, and later on, received a Master degree in Social Science. She also received the Honorary Doctorate in Social Science from the University of Hong Kong, the City University of Hong Kong and The Hong Kong Polytechnic University respectively, and an Honorary Doctorate in Law from the China University of Political Science and Law of the People's Republic of China. Her record of public service has been acknowledged by the HKSAR Government through the award of the Gold Bauhinia Star in 1998 and Hong Kong's top award, the Grand Bauhinia Medal, in 2007.

Dr. Fan has not entered into any service contract with the Bank. She is provided with a Letter of Appointment setting out the terms and conditions of her appointment as an Independent Non-executive Director of the Bank. In accordance with the Articles of Association of the Bank, Dr. Fan will hold office until the next following general meeting of the Bank and shall then be eligible for re-election for a term of not more than approximately three years. The fees payable to Directors of the Bank are determined by the Board of the Bank with reference to market trends. Dr. Fan will receive a director's fee of HK\$300,000 per annum.

Dr. Fan does not have any relationship with any Directors, Senior Management and Substantial Shareholders (as defined in the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules")) of the Bank. As at the date of this announcement, the Bank does not have a Controlling Shareholder (as defined in the Listing Rules).

As at the date of this announcement, Dr. Fan is not interested in any shares of the Bank within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

Dr. Fan has met the independence guidelines set out in Rule 3.13 of the Listing Rules.

There is no information relating to Dr. Fan that is required to be disclosed pursuant to Rules 13.51 (2) (h) to (v) of the Listing Rules.

Save as disclosed above, there are no other matters relating to the appointment of Dr. Fan that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Bank.

The Bank is pleased to take this opportunity to welcome Dr. Fan to join the Board and congratulates her on her appointment.

By Order of the Board **David LI Kwok-po**Chairman & Chief Executive

Hong Kong, 25th February, 2016

Following the above-mentioned appointment, the Board of Directors of the Bank comprises Dr. the Hon. Sir David LI Kwok-po[#] (Chairman & Chief Executive), Professor Arthur LI Kwok-cheung* (Deputy Chairman), Dr. Allan WONG Chi-yun** (Deputy Chairman), Mr. WONG Chung-hin**, Mr. Aubrey LI Kwok-sing*, Mr. Winston LO Yau-lai**, Tan Sri Dr. KHOO Kay-peng**, Mr. Richard LI Tzar-kai**, Mr. Kenneth LO Chin-ming**, Mr. Eric LI Fook-chuen*, Mr. Stephen Charles LI Kwok-sze*, Mr. William DOO Wai-hoi**, Mr. KUOK Khoon-ean**, Mr. Valiant CHEUNG Kin-piu**, Dr. Isidro FAINÉ CASAS*, Dr. Peter LEE Ka-kit*, Mr. Adrian David LI Man-kiu[#] (Deputy Chief Executive), Mr. Brian David LI Man-bun[#] (Deputy Chief Executive), Mr. Daryl NG Win-kong**, Mr. Masayuki OKU* and Dr. Rita FAN HSU Lai-tai**.

[#] Executive Director

^{*} Non-executive Director

^{**} Independent Non-executive Director